Download the Book of Abstracts as PDF

September 10th 2018

8:30 am – 10:30 am      Registration and Refreshments

10:15 am – 10:40 am      Opening remarks L.A. Giraldeau (DG of INRS), Claudio Taffuri (Italian Ambassador of Italy in Canada), Giorgio Contini and Federico Rosei

Session chair: Federico Rosei
10:40 am – 11:30 am John Polanyi (Univ. of Toronto)
Something new: Nano-Molecular Beams give surface reaction at selected impact parameters
11:30 am – 12:00 am Giovanni Comelli (Trieste Univ.)
Graphene growth on Ni(111)

12:00 pm – 1:30 pm      Buffet Lunch

Session chair: Giorgio Contini
1:30 pm – 2:00 pm Fabio Beltram (Normale Univ.)
Nanosystems for biomedicine
2:00 pm – 2:30 pm Clara Santato (Polymtl)
Towards greener electronics
2:30 pm – 3:00 pm Giovanni Fanchini (Western Ontario Univ.)
Nanostructured flash memory devices based on radical polymers and carbon-based nanomaterials

3:00 pm – 3:30 pm        Coffee Break

Session chair: Giovanni Comelli
3:30 pm – 4:00 pm Jean Michel Nunzi (Queens Univ.)
Optical Rectification and Hot-Electron Photo-detectors
4:00 pm – 4:30 pm Alessandro Molle (CNR, IMM)
Materials design the two-dimensional level: from Xenes to anisotropic
4:30 pm – 5:00 pm Dimitri Perepichka (McGill Univ.)
πElectron Conjugation in 2D Polymers
Session chair: Federico Rosei
5:00 pm – 5:10 pm
5:10 pm – 6:30 pm
Robert Déziel (regional director,NSERC-CRSNG)
Panel Events: discussion with Industries Partners
Participants Bioastra Technologies inc., Mrs Sumitra S Rajagopalan
Sens Wear, Dr. Alireza Hassani, Photon etc., Mr Sébastien Blais-Ouellette,
MPB Communications inc., Mr Emile Haddad

8:15 pm                         Social Dinner


September 11th 2018

Session chair: Fabio Beltram
10:00 am – 10:30 am Dongling Ma (INRS)
Developing Hybrid Nanostructures for Energy and Biomedical
10:30 am – 11:00 am Anna Sgarlata (Tor Vergata Univ.)
Epitaxial growth of Ge-based nanomaterials. From GeSi to novel bidimensional systems: Graphene on Ge and Germanene on HOPG
11:00 am – 11:30 am Jean-François Morin (Laval Univ.)
Novel Photochemical Methods for the Preparation of Nanographenes and
Graphene Nanoribbons

11:30 am – 12:00 am    Coffee Break

Session chair: Dongling Ma
12:00 am – 12:30 am Marta Cerruti (McGill Univ.)
Graphene aerogels: from self-assembly to applications
12:30 am – 1:00 pm Maurizia Palummo (Tor Vergata Univ.)
Novel 2D materials for opto-electronic applications: insight from parameter-free quantum mechanical methods”

1:00 pm – 2:30 pm        Buffet Lunch

Session chair: Maurizia Palummo
2:30 pm – 3:00 pm Stefan Heun (CNR, Nano)
Non-Classical Longitudinal Magneto-Resistance in Anisotropic Black
3:00 pm – 3:30 pm Mohamed Siaj (UQAM)
Efficient hydrogen evolution based on bidding-free molybdenum diselenide catalyst
3:30 pm – 4:00 pm Luca Floreano (CNR, IOM)
Chemical reactions of porphyrins at the interface with transition metal oxides

4:00 pm – 4:30 pm        Coffee Break

Session chair: Stefan Heun
4:30 pm – 5:00 pm Nazir Kherani (Toronto Univ.)
Engineering Nanostructured Materials for Tunable Light-Matter
5:00 pm – 5:30 pm Filippo Romanato (Padova Univ.)
Nanostructured metasurface optics for Orbital Angular Momentum spectroscopy
5:30 pm – 6:00 pm Thomas Szkopek (McGill Univ.)
Ion Sensitive Graphene Field Effect Transistors: Saturating the Physical
Limit to Potentiometric Sensing


September 12th 2018

Session chair: Anna Sgarlata
10:00 am – 10:30 am Thomas M. Brown (Tor Vergata Univ.)
Electron extracting nanolayers in perovskite & organic solar cells
10:30 am – 11:00 am Fiorenzo Vetrone (INRS)
Lanthanide-Doped Nanoparticles

11:00 am – 11:30 am    Coffee Break

Session chair: Dimitri Perepichka
11:30 am – 12:00 am Emanuele Orgiu (INRS)
Hybrid van der Waals Heterostructures
12:00 pm – 12:30 pm Valentina Tozzini (CNR, Nano)
Graphene imperfections: defects or effects?
12:30 pm – 1:00 pm Hanadi Sleiman (McGill Univ.)
To be defined

1:00 pm – 1:10 pm       Concluding remarks and greetings

1:10 pm – 2:30 pm        Buffet Lunch

2:30 pm – 4:00 pm       Visit to INRS facilities


Download as PDF